Python Forum
Private package distribution abomination disadvantages research
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Private package distribution abomination disadvantages research
Python noob here (BTW is there a dedicated noun for this?)

Intro
I need to store Python packages privately at work. By privately I mean only available inside the company. Because of the infrastructure I am forced to keep .tar.gz packages in an NPM repository. No, at this point I have no ammo to shoot back against this.

This means that the URL to a package is like so: https://some.host.company.com/foo/bar/pa...2.3.tar.gz.

In a Python project in which I want to use the package 'package-name' I create a requirements.txt file with the following content:

--find-links https://some.host.company.com/foo/bar/package-name/-/
package-name==1.2.3
At project build time there would be run the following command:

pip install -r requirements.txt
.. and all is good. The project can be built, run etc. I can also add public Python packages in the requirements.txt file and things still work. I can also add several --find-links lines at the beginning, one for each private package and thing still work.

The problem: I believe this is an abomination which stinks and could create problems later down the road and I would like to learn what are the disadvantages of practicing this. However the internal infrastructure is quite inflexible and it would take a lot of effort to make it to properly internally host and publish packages.

Therefore I need strong arguments against this in order to convince the infrastructure guys. What could those arguments be?
Thank you!
I've talked about doing at my job exactly what you're talking about doing. What exactly makes it "an abomination" exactly? If it works with pip, I'd expect it to be the right thing.
Thank you for taking time to reply!

The reasons I called it an abomination are a bit more theoretical than practical, indeed: