Python Forum
remove elements method not working
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
remove elements method not working
Hello,
I am trying to use remove() to remove elements from the list but it is not happening. Kindly help.

l = [10, 10, 10, 10, 20, 20, 30]
x = int(input("Enter element to remove "))
for i in l:
    if i == x:
        l.remove(i)
print(l)
Output:
Enter element to remove 10 [10, 10, 20, 20, 30]
never change list while iterating over it. Iterate over copy of the list
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way: link and another link
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

Thank you but I didn't understand much. I am new to python. Don't mind.
Maybe this will make it a bit clear.
spam = ['a', 'b', 'c', 'd']

for char in spam:
    print(f'current char:{char}')
    if char in 'ab':
        spam.remove(char)
    print(f'current state of list: {spam}')
Output:
current char:a current state of list: ['b', 'c', 'd'] current char:c current state of list: ['b', 'c', 'd'] current char:d current state of list: ['b', 'c', 'd']
It's similar with what you do, but with chars, to make it more clear. Based on your logic, it should remove chars 'a' and 'b'.
but after removing 'a', now second element in list is already 'c', so it never visit 'b'.

what to do
spam = ['a', 'b', 'c', 'd']

for char in spam[::]: # iterate over a copy of the list
    print(f'current char:{char}')
    if char in 'ab':
        spam.remove(char)
    print(f'current state of list: {spam}')
Output:
current char:a current state of list: ['b', 'c', 'd'] current char:b current state of list: ['c', 'd'] current char:c current state of list: ['c', 'd'] current char:d current state of list: ['c', 'd']
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way: link and another link
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

Try this: