Python Forum
self learning itertools for complex structures
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
self learning itertools for complex structures
hello, im a newbie, been digging around to find a solution to a problem for the creation of a complex structure using itertools - permutation combination.

So far i've been using from itertools import product, combinations, combinations_with_replacement to acheive the basic stuff. But i want to create something else and i don't know where to start. Ok, so im going to copy paste my question from stackflow:

from itertools import product, combinations, combinations_with_replacement

flavors  = ["chocolate", "vanilla", "strawberry", "coffee"]
sizes    = ["small", "medium", "large"]
toppings = ["sprinkles", "gummy bears", "oreos", "cookie dough", "snickers", "brownies"]
syrups   = ["hot fudge", "caramel", "strawberry", "white chocolate"]

#
# pick a flavor and a size
for flavor,size in product(flavors, sizes):
    #
    # pick three toppings, but no more than one of each
    for top_a, top_b, top_c in combinations(toppings, 3):
        #
        # pick three syrups, allowing repeats
        for syr_a, syr_b, syr_c in combinations_with_replacement(syrups, 3):
            #
            # now do something with the result:
            print(", ".join([flavor, size, top_a, top_b, top_c, syr_a, syr_b, syr_c]))
in this example itertools is used to print all possible outcomes,easy as 123. Been digging 16hrs a day for the past couple days, to built a much more complex structure with arguments and parameters [algorithms], and i'm struggling to find my way trough

e.g i have n number of list and i want to see all the possible outcomes, where the outcome is taken from 3 lists

list01: 01,02,03,04,05
list02: 01,03,07,10
list03: 02,03,06,08,09
list04: 01,03,05,06,07
outcome : [a,b,c], [a,d,e], [a,f]
for e.g,
[a,b,c] is taken from a list01
[a,d,e] is taken from list02, and
[a,f] is taken from list03