Python Forum
trying an online challenge
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
trying an online challenge
I recently started learning Python. I have watched several YouTube vids, read some documentation, and experimented on my own. I'm currently trying to complete the first challenge for a website(not able to find in TOS if posting links or URL's is approved). The paraphrased  challenge is:

Have a function take the num parameter and return the factorial. The range is between 1 and 18, and input is always an integer.

Here's the first sequence I tried:
def factorial():
   num = int(input("Pick a number between 1 and 18 "))
   n = num - 1
   while n>0:
      num =  num*n
      n = n-1
   return num

print(factorial())
When I submitted, it hung for a few minutes, said I was wrong, and the results indicated it was supposed to test all values from 1 to 10. I figured out there was no actual input because I told it to run code, and it's still running 20 minutes later. I assume it's waiting for input to define num. I reread the challenge, saw "range," and thought "Oh, I need a range type." So then I try this:
def FirstFactorial(num): 
   n = num - 1
   while n>0:
       num = num*n
       n = n-1
   return num

for x in range (1,20,1):
   while x != 19:
       num =  x
       print(FirstFactorial(num))
       x = x+1
All I get back is an endless list of "1." Obviously, I'm missing something with the way ranges work, so I just simplify the loop and try this:

def FirstFactorial(num): 
   n = num - 1
   while n>0:
       num = num*n
       n = n-1
   return num

x = 1    
while x != 19:
   num =  x
   print(FirstFactorial(num))
   x = x+1