Python Forum
unable to locate package - pandas datareader
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
unable to locate package - pandas datareader
Hi I'm new to the world of programming and I am really under pressure to learn python at the moment for a mature student college course. So im looking for help on how to get python pandas installed on ubuntu 16.04, specifically pandas datareader. I might need more help later too, to get my head around this. I have no programming experience and very little linux experience.

I'm doing the basic introduction on python and stuck on the second part.

import pandas_datareader.data as web

https://pythonprogramming.net/data-analy...roduction/

I've visited https://github.com/pydata/pandas-datareader but do not know what to do after this part, do I need to download something else.

Quote:import pandas.io.data as web
/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pandas/io/data.py:33: FutureWarning:
The pandas.io.data module is moved to a separate package (pandas-datareader) and will be removed from pandas in a future version.
After installing the pandas-datareader package (https://github.com/pydata/pandas-datareader), you can change the import from pandas.io import data, wb to from pandas_datareader import data, wb.
FutureWarning)
(Apr-11-2018, 08:39 PM)Grin Wrote: and very little linux experience
Python works fine on Windows. If it's easier to learn one thing at a time, you don't have to be on linux.

For the datareader, you can install it with pip install pandas-datareader.
It's just a change of import in newer version.
So after Pandas 0.19.0,it's from pandas_datareader import data, wb
Test.
G:\Anaconda3
λ python -m ptpython
>>> import pandas as pd

>>> pd.__version__
'0.22.0'

# So i have newest version,then this is correct
>>> from pandas_datareader import data, wb

# Old import not do use,if not get message upgrade Pandas
>>> from pandas.io import data, wb
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>