Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
updating a dictionary
I'm new to python and am having a problem updating a dictionary. I'm trying to enter several key/value pairs in a dictionary, however it appears each update overwrites the previous addition. any one know where I'm going wrong on this?

print ("tmp_dict before loop:    ", tmp_dict)
          for key, value in tmp_dict.items():
               cisco_vars.update({'interface': {notepad_str: {key: value}}})
               print('cisco_vars in  loop:  ' , cisco_vars,  "\n\n")

print('cisco_vars after for loop:  ' , cisco_vars,  "\n\n")
sample output:
Output:
cisco_vars in loop: {'interface': {'FastEthernet1/0/1': {'trunk allowed vlan': ['7']}}, 'hostname': 'CISCO-ANS-TEST', ....} cisco_vars after for loop: {'interface': {'FastEthernet1/0/1': {'trunk allowed vlan': ['7']}}, 'hostname': 'CISCO-ANS-TEST', ....} tmp_dict before loop: {'portfast': True, 'network-policy': '15', 'mode': 'access', 'access_vlan': '144', 'description': 'ADMN-175B-1-2'} cisco_vars in loop: {'interface': {'FastEthernet1/0/2': {'portfast': True}}, 'hostname': 'CISCO-ANS-TEST', ....} cisco_vars in loop: {'interface': {'FastEthernet1/0/2': {'network-policy': '15'}}, 'hostname': 'CISCO-ANS-TEST', ....} cisco_vars in loop: {'interface': {'FastEthernet1/0/2': {'mode': 'access'}}, 'hostname': 'CISCO-ANS-TEST', ....} cisco_vars in loop: {'interface': {'FastEthernet1/0/2': {'access_vlan': '144'}}, 'hostname': 'CISCO-ANS-TEST', ....} cisco_vars in loop: {'interface': {'FastEthernet1/0/2': {'description': 'ADMN-175B-1-2'}}, 'hostname': 'CISCO-ANS-TEST', ....} cisco_vars after for loop: {'interface': {'FastEthernet1/0/2': {'description': 'ADMN-175B-1-2'}}, 'hostname': 'CISCO-ANS-TEST', ....}
final contents of cisco_vars before program termination:
Output:
{'interface': {'FastEthernet1/0/2': {'description': 'ADMN-175B-1-2'}}, 'hostname': 'CISCO-ANS-TEST', ....}