Python Forum
using self-developed modules
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
using self-developed modules
I use Win10 and Python 3.7.4.
I wrote a program that contains a number of inline functions and classes followed by a main program. It imports a module that I wrote that contains some functions and classes that are used in multiple programs.
My programs look as follows:

main.py
import sys
from selfwrittenmodule import f1, f2
def if1:
    some lines of code
def if2:
    some lines of code
b = 2
a = if1(b)
c = if2 (b)
print (a, b)
selfwrittenmodule
def f1:
Sorry: I'm not yet used to this forum, I managed to file an incomplete question. Here is the completed question:

I use Win10 and Python 3.7.4. I am rather new to Python.

I wrote a python program that contains a number of inline functions and classes followed by a main program. It imports some “standard” modules (sys, decimal, tkinter, …) and also a home-grown module that contains functions and classes that are also used in other modules.

My modules look (simplified) like:

main.py
import sys
def if1(x):
….a = f1(x);return(a)
def if2(x):
….a = f2(x);return(a)
b = 2
a = if1(b)
c = if2(b)
print (a, c)

selfwrittenmodule.py
def f1(x):
….some lines of code
def f2(x)
….some lines of code

I stored the “main.py” module in a folder dedicated to “work in progress”. Because “selfwrittenmodule,py” is for use by many other scripts to, it is stored in a folder dedicated to “general use” modules.
In the manuals I found three ways to ensure that the python interpreter finds modules in other folders:
1) Add a “PYTHONPATH” variable to the system variables and have it point to the “general use” folder.
2) Add the “general use” folder to the “%PATH%” system variable.
3) Move the “general use” folder, with the “selfwrittenmodule.py” in it, into C:\Users\actname\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37-32\Lib