Python Forum
What data structure I need
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What data structure I need
Hi all,
I am new to python and I have learned using data frames. I have imported some data series and I was able to set the index to be time based. That makes me picking time durations easier. A few questions though more

a. How I can pick based on time stamps durations?(assume a start point in time X) Pick all rows that are within 1 second.

b. I want then to pick measurements based on a rolling window(previous start point+ a displacement).
I can do this easily in python with a for loop and having indexes increasing gradually. But is this the most efficient way to do that?

c. Now since I am splitting my initial data set to a X new datasets what will be the most efficient data structure to keep that new vectors? So for a long vector that is time indexed I will split it to Y new vectors (they will be overlapping as I described at point b). How I can store them? In other words can my function still return a data frame that makes calculations way easier?

I would like to thank you in advance for your reply.
Regards
Alex
I am not sure I can completely understand all your questions, but since you are talking about data frames, I suspect that you are using Pandas package.

Pandas supports rolling windows. It could be applied to DataFrame and Series instances. Why do you need to pick windowed data up?
As far as I undertood you correctly, you are trying to do something like this (but with data frames):

Quote:[1, 2, 3, 4, 5] => applying rolling window of size 3 => [[1, 2, 3], [2, 3, 4], [3, 4, 5]]

Note, you usually don't need to store right side of rolling operation. Usually, rolling window is applyied to
obtain, e.g., moving average values. In pandas this could be easily done using .rolling method: df.rolling(3).mean()
df.rolling(3).sum(), or if df has time-based index, df.rolling('3s').mean().