Python Forum

Full Version: finding similar objects in a list
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am new to python and programming in general.I wanted to write a code which prints the similar elements from 2 lists .For example if a=[1,2,3,4,5] and b=[0,2,4,6] , I would want a c=[2,4]. Here is what I did:

def simi(a,b):
    a,b,c=[],[],[]
    for i in a:
        for j in b:
            if i==j:
                c.append(i)
            else:
                continue
    return (c)
[python]
check your line#2
Do you really want to overwrite the user supplied arguments a and b with empty lists? :-)

Note that your code is not pythonic and there are better ways to do the same, without using nested loops. check using set
(Jun-22-2018, 06:57 AM)DRPR Wrote: [ -> ]I am new to python and programming in general.I wanted to write a code which prints the similar elements from 2 lists .For example if a=[1,2,3,4,5] and b=[0,2,4,6] , I would want a c=[2,4]. Here is what I did:

def simi(a,b):
    a,b,c=[],[],[]
    for i in a:
        for j in b:
            if i==j:
                c.append(i)
            else:
                continue
    return (c)
  • In your function, you overwrite a and b, you have to initialize only c
  • If you find an equal element - you can stop the search
               if i==j:
                   c.append(i)
                   break
  • You don't need else for an empty action - if may exist without else. You only use continue if you have more code in the loop that you want to bypass - and even then it is not advised (unless you want to avoid indenting large block of code)
  • It is more efficient to check the presence of an element in a list with an operator in