Python Forum

Full Version: wx.StaticBitmap change image
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,when I created a StaticBitmap, and a combobox. I had the idea that, as I would to change the image in StaticBitmap, from another event.
From combobox.

my code of StaticBitmap
self.m_bitmap1 = wx.StaticBitmap(self, wx.ID_LOGO, wx.Bitmap(u"example.png", wx.BITMAP_TYPE_ANY),
                                         wx.DefaultPosition, wx.DefaultSize, 0)
        self.m_bitmap1.SetBackgroundColour(wx.SystemSettings.GetColour(wx.SYS_COLOUR_ACTIVEBORDER))
        self.m_bitmap1.SetToolTip(u"logo of example")
        bSizer6.Add(self.m_bitmap1, 0, wx.ALIGN_CENTER | wx.ALL, 5)
event of combobox
    def option_combo(self, event):
        selection = self.comboBox_Dir.GetSelection()
        if selection == 0:
            pass      # change image in StaticBitmap

#print(selection)
        #event.Skip()
I am a beginner with wxPython but I think you need to post the whole of your code and
most importantly what error did you get?
Well, it is not a mistake that I gave, rather I have the solution.
def option_combo(self, event):
    selection = self.comboBox_Dir.GetSelection()
    if selection == 0:
       self.m_bitmap1.SetBitmap(wx.Bitmap('example.jpg'))#change image in StaticBitmap
Okay. So as I am learning I need some explanations as to how this works. I could not see how to fit these into a working program. I still can't figure out how to use it.
Also the combobox part you posted originally is not the same as the one in your reply.
At least I can see how it would change things if I could understand how a value of 0 for selection would be how to trigger a change in the image. What would happen if it was some other value?