Python Forum

Full Version: New to coding - Python error: TypeError: unsupported operand type(s) for -: 'str' and
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello, I am new to coding so I was trying to test unicode and 'encrypting' stuff if you can even call it like that.I currently use Windows 10 and my Python version is 3.7, anyways I got that message, this is the code: (NOTE: I made an 'encryption' thing too but it worked and this wont)

while True:
    try:
        message = int(input("Enter a message you want to be decrypted: "))
        break
    except ValueError:
        print("Error, please enter an integer")
secret_string = ""
for char in message:
    secret_string += str(chr(char - str(742146)))
print("Decrypted:", secret_string)
q = input("")
Error:
Traceback (most recent call last): File "C:\Users\Aleksa\Desktop\decrypt.py", line 6, in <module> secret_string += str(chr(char - str(742146))) TypeError: unsupported operand type(s) for -: 'str' and 'str'
Please, post the entire traceback that you get. We need to see that whole thing. Do not just give us the last line.
Take a time to read What to include in a post

Also, fix the indentation of your code
I've been working on a simple 'project' basically what it does is that I insert an message and it translates it to unicode and it adds like 7839 to it so it would be 'secret'. Process of transforming it into unicode works but problem occurs when I wrote 'decrypt' thing, I am running windows 10 and python 3.70. Here is the code and the error:

while True:
    try:
        message = int(input("Enter a message you want to be decrypted: "))
        break
    except ValueError:
secret_string = ""
for char in message:
    secret_string += str(chr(char - str(742146)))
print("Decrypted:", secret_string)
q = input("")
Error: