Python Forum

Full Version: Where to start as a beginner
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello guys,

I'd like to ask your opinion about learning to program, and the python language. I've a background of programming about 15 years ago, and I didn't use them since (so it is nothing, I just remember about what the if statement about and cycles).
As I heard python is a great language to start with, and my aim is change my workplace sometime even on python, or on other language (Now I work as an internal auditor, which is not programming related).
Where should I start, what do you reckon?

I have the Head First Books (Programming and Python), and I have some books from my native language, which is better, but the books are older like python 2.x and older...
Or should I watch lynda.com or udemy movies?
How should I train myself?

Thanks in advance!

PS: Oh and I have the Sololearn tutorial on my phone and tablet, but don't find that very useful... More of a game I think...
(Dec-14-2016, 10:02 PM)wavic Wrote: [ -> ]http://python-forum.io/Forum-Tutorials

I was looking a little bit on it, but I couldn't find the most beginner stuff at first glance...
If I should start there, what would be your recommendations?
(Dec-14-2016, 09:59 PM)godmode Wrote: [ -> ]older like python 2.x and older...

Python 2.7 and 3.5 are both actively developed. Although py3 is recommended when starting out, the differences are small but profound.

When I was in a bit same situation, I just wanted to see some python in praxis, without too much theoretical explanation up front, so I can recommend the Python video class by Nick Parlante
They way I learned was to give myself a small assignment and dig in.
Once I got that to work, I did it again adding new functionality to a new task.
I'm still doing the same today, although on a much higher level, and using the
book fluent Python.