Python Forum

Full Version: My while statement is running twice.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm brand new to programming and wanted to write a simple Pokemon game in Python. I got to the point where you can choose a Pokemon and it generates a random wild pokemon encounter, but for some reason, my while statement to see if you want to fight or run asks you twice and I have no idea why!

import random
import time
from typing import List

wild_pokemon = ["Caterpie", "Metapod", "Butterfree", "Weedle"]

class bulbasaur:
    name = "Bulbasaur"
    health = 100
    moves = ["Cut", "Razor Leaf"]

class charmander:
    name = "Charmander"
    health = 100
    moves = ["Tackle", "Ember"]

class squirtle:
    name = "Squirtle"
    health = 100
    moves = ["Tackle", "Bubble"]

class pikachu:
    name = "Pikachu"
    health = 100
    moves = ["Quick Attack", "Thundershock"]

def intro():
    print("Hello, there. Glad to meet you!")
    time.sleep(2)
    print("Welcome to the world of Pokémon!")
    time.sleep(2)
    print("My name is OAK. People affectionately refer to me as the Pokémon Professor.")
    time.sleep(4)
    print("This world is inhabited far and wide by creatures called Pokémon.")
    print("For some people, Pokémon are pets. Others use them for battling.")
    time.sleep(4)
    print("As for myself... I study Pokémon as a profession.")
    time.sleep(4)
    print("But first, tell me a little about yourself...")
    # Ask player for name
    player_name = input("What is your name? \n")
    print(player_name + "! " + "Your very own Pokémon legend is about to unfold!")

def part_one():
    # Prompt Pokémon selection
    player_pokemon = input("What Pokémon will you choose: Bulbasaur, Charmander, or Squirtle?: \n")

# Validation
    while player_pokemon.lower() != "bulbasaur" and player_pokemon != "charmander" and player_pokemon != "squirtle":