Python Forum

Full Version: Is this morally wrong?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5
Hello,

I've been doing this for a long time, and while I'm sure if I was a published book author (I'm not), I wouldn't like this. But I haven't stopped doing it in the name of financially responsibility to my family and obligations; and if I was an author I would want to see criminal or civil punishment for someone doing this to my content if it got out there.

So what I do is, whenever I see a book of interest, which is often, I search for the book title in Google with the search criteria of 'filetype: pdf'.

More often then not, I find the book, especially if the book is (approximately) 2-3 years or more older. Then I download, on the first page comment the weblink where I downloaded the book, and I'm off and reading.

While sometimes I have bought a book or course in support of the creator, honestly, more often then not, I have not.
Am I committing a moral faux pas?

Thanks,
Phil
If you look hard enough on the web, you can find paid content for free. We just cant advocate it on the forums as then we are aiding and abetting what constitutes in some countries as illegal. Your not the only one though. Although i would avoid posting such on public forums that could possibly incriminate yourself later.

About whether its morally wrong or not is up to you. About whether its illegal or not....its not, unless your the initial source of the content. However you draw attention to yourself by reposting the link elsewhere. Those in authority might assume you are the source. Whether you are or not you dont want them researching you.
Do you think this post would raise a flag?
I'm not distributing anything. Each book I get, I'm pretty good about commenting in the book the source download page.
Phil