Python Forum

Full Version: Looking to Save Data
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm very new to both Python and this forum, so please forgive me if I don't include all the information needed or I've posted in the wrong place.

I am trying to make a game, which I suspect is pretty common. A friend of mine walked me through some of the basics and I was able to create a simple procedural generator that designs planets. It is essentially a mad lib that the program fills in itself with the random module and some lists. I want to use that program as a sample for a jumping off point, though this is now an old project and I'll probably use what I learn from here to make something else.

Anyway, to give an idea of where I am coming from I would have to state that my inspiration was the Legends mode of Dwarf Fortress. I loved how these complex, and at times ridiculous, stories would evolve in that game's generator and I would sometimes create new games just to read these stories. With that said I am trying to take that planet generator, or whatever I end up making that is similar, and allow the program to save each planet it creates and even develop entire systems, using those planets, that the user can then access like a reference library and read the descriptions. I would also like to be able to save all that procedurally created content so the user could close down the program, open it back up, and load all that back up or even another save file if you make multiple saves.

The question is, how would I do that? I've lost contact with my programmer friend a while back, for reasons I'm unsure of, so I can't ask him. I've tried looking it up and have slogged through multiple posts and videos, all of which I'm unsure ever gave me the answer I was seeking.