Python Forum

Full Version: I can't figure out simple rounding to 2 decimal places!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So I missed the day of class where they went over rounding and I can't seem to get my code to always round to 2 decimal places.

I'm new to python and coding in general so go easy on me, i'm sure it's an easy answer but I just can't seem to figure it out and can't find a clear explanation.

Here's the part of the code I'm having troubles with:

while True:
try:
copies=float(input("Enter the number of copies to be printed --> "))
except ValueError:
print("Please enter a number.")
pass
else:
break

if copies < 100:
ppc=0.30
elif copies < 500 > 99:
ppc=0.28
elif copies < 750 > 499:
ppc=0.27
elif copies < 1001 > 749:
ppc=0.26
elif copies >1000:
ppc=0.25

total=(ppc*copies)

After I need to print the outputs of the price per copy (ppc) and the total price (ppc*copies). Easy enough until I try to make sure the values come out formatted as currecy, so 2 decimals (1.25, 1.30, etc.)

Can someone give me a hand and either write the last line of code I can evaluate or explain what I may need to do? I've looked at other examples for things like %0.2f % or whatever it is but I don't understand the lingo well enough to fit this to my assignment.

Thanks in advance.
Please put your code in Python code tags, and full error traceback message in error tags. You can find help here.
Thank you for looking but I believe I've finally figured it out. Will delete this thread if I can otherwise (since i'm new around these parts) if a mod handles that please do. Thanks!
Ok I'm glad to hear you got your solution. Thread deleting isn't necessary, don't worry. But you are welcome to post your solution in case you'd like to share.