Python Forum

Full Version: boolean conditions
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
One thing that drives me nuts while reading python code is when people do this
if condition == False:
or
if len(condition) == 0:
when you can do
if not condition: 
PEP 8 even says "Don't compare boolean values to True or False using ==" :)
micseydel Wrote:Don't compare boolean values to True or False using ==
But it means that you can write
if condition is False
The semantics is slightly different from
if not condition
One can reasonably argue that good python code should not rely on such slight differences.
I stick with

if condition:
    pass

if not condition:
    pass
I have some C knowledge ( almost forgot it all already ) but I did the above when I was learning the Python basics even before seen how it is in Python. It just feels natural.
Here is a case where you need something different
def explain_python_value(value):
    if value is False:
        print('This is the boolean constant meaning "false".')
    elif value is None:
        print('The None object is often used to indicate an absence of value.')
    elif value == []:
        print("It's the empty list!")
    else:
        print('I have not yet been taught what this object is...')
In c, an rvalue is not necessarily a boolean, since boolean True equates to 1, and False equates to 0.
This is important when dealing with mixed C and assembler, because a 'short' (8 bit) 4 = 0000 0100, and if passed to the assembler
will be construed as False if used in the context of a boolean. You can use what C calls 'integral promotions' to create a boolean True from the 4 by assuring that bit zero is set to one.

assume variable z = 4 then z = ! ! z would become 0000 0001 which is now boolean True. and if it started as 0 would remain so, and would satisfy boolean False.

Been a while since I thought C or assembler so hope this makes sense.