Python Forum

Full Version: Syntax Error with if
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello! This is my first ever post. I am really new to Python and programming in general. Only about a week that i try to figure out how to code.

I tried making a program that will generate a random number, then i input a number trying to guess the random one. The program tells me if my input is higher or lower than the number and i guess again until i find the correct one. Finally it notifies me that i found the correct number and also how many attempts i needed to find it.
While i m pretty sure my logic behind this is correct, i run into silly syntax errors that probably come from the "if" statement. I am using Python 3.7

I ve seen that the syntax should be

if condition:
commands
elif condition:
commands
else:
commands

while it seems simple it wont work :)
my code is the following

import random
z = int(random.randint(0,100))
att = int(0)                                        # att will be used to count the attemps inside my loop
solve = False                                       # I use solve as an exit mechanic from while loop
while solve == False:
    x = input(int('Enter your guess: ')
    if x > z 
      print('The number is smaller than the input')
      guess = att + 1
    elif x < z:
      print('The number is bigger than the input')
      guess = att + 1
    else:
      print('Congratulations! You have found the correct number!')
      print('It took you ' + int(guess) + 'attemps')
      solve = True 
The error i get is this https://i.imgur.com/5PFCcNW.png
also if i try to put the : in the first if statement i get this https://i.imgur.com/c7avGC0.png

I am trying to solve this for 3h now ruining my study and i finally decided that i need help for someone with experience!

Thank you in advance!
Here is the full working code

import random
z = int(random.randint(0,100))