Python Forum

Full Version: So help to make a text rpg gui
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi folks.

I just started coding in python, and I had a lot of fun following several "courses" on youtube. However I have now run into a problem. I made a text rpg (a classic one where the player read a description and chooses one of 3 or 4 options) I put a lot of time and effort into the game, and I'm happy with the result. Every scene is defined as function, and the player input simply triggers a new function. The functions are basically print, input and a lot of if, elif and else commands.

The problem is that I would like the game to run in a separate window. Like a tkinter window, and not just in the terminal of PyCharm. But I can't find any tutorials regarding this. I watched several tutorials on tkinter, but can seem to find anything relevant.

So I'm in need to a link or a tutorial or something that can point me in the right direction. I don't mind putting in a lot of hours learning or programming, but I need to know where to look for any relevant courses, tutorials or anything that can put me on the right track.
(Mar-16-2019, 03:27 PM)bondsec Wrote: [ -> ]The functions are basically print, input and a lot of if, elif and else commands.

You might want to look at this tutorial. It will probably simplify your code a lot.

As to the GUI version, you would need to define what you want in more detail. Do you just want to replicate the command line in a GUI, or do you want to provide buttons that the player would click to move and do other things?
Thanks for the til, I'll make sure check out the tutorial as soon as I'm home.