Python Forum

Full Version: problems with python script and special characters
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,
im new to python and am trying to use the below script but when i run it i get this error:
Error:
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/root/user/split_=?Utf-8?Q?Temp_Glass/Mas_1213_Tempest?=\r\n =?Utf-8?Q?Tian/Kontakt_byr=C3=A5.mbox'
The python script is attached below. it analyzes an .MBOX file and split it into smaller .MBOX files based on the label name.
I've copied the script from here: https://github.com/danburzo/gmail-mbox2maildir

I think the issue is that its trying to create a folder structure but that fails. I actually dont care about the folder structure , i just need the splitted mbox files. Anyone have any ideas on how to rewrite this?

script is here in full

#!/usr/bin/env python

# Adapted from:
# http://wboptimum.com/splitting-gmail-mbox-by-label/

import sys
import getopt
import mailbox

def main(argv):
	in_mbox = "inbox.mbox"
	prefix = "split_"
	try:
		opts, args = getopt.getopt(argv, "i:p:", ["infile=", "prefix="])
	except getopt.GetoptError:
		print("python splitgmail.py -i  -p ")
		sys.exit(2)

for opt, arg in opts:
		if opt in ("-i", "--infile"):
			in_mbox = arg
		elif opt in ("-p", "--prefix"):
			prefix = arg
	print("Processing file - " + in_mbox + " with prefix = " + prefix)
	boxes = {"inbox": mailbox.mbox(prefix+"Inbox.mbox", None, True), "sent": mailbox.mbox(prefix+"Sent.mbox", None, True),"archive":mailbox.mbox(prefix+"Archive.mbox", None, True)}

for message in mailbox.mbox(in_mbox):
		gmail_labels = message["X-Gmail-Labels"]       # Could possibly be None.
		if not gmail_labels:
			boxes["archive"].add(message)
			continue
		gmail_labels = gmail_labels.lower()
		if "spam" in gmail_labels:
			continue
		elif "inbox" in gmail_labels:
			boxes["inbox"].add(message)
		elif "sent" in gmail_labels:
			boxes["sent"].add(message)
		else: