Python Forum

Full Version: dictionaries and list as values
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So I have an assignment where I have a sequence id's as a key in a dictionary and the values are lists of sequences of a certain length associated with a particular ID. What I need to do is to go through the sequences on the list (which is stored as the value), sort all those away that do not have a certain character as the nth character.

Then I need to get 500 random pair of the sequeces, it is important that a sequences is not paired with another sequence with the same sequence id (key).

I have never worked with this amount of data before, and is very unsure how to go about this.

I probably should look at object oriented programming but I have no idea where to start, can anyone give me any direction?

Thanks in advance!
"What I need to do is to go through the sequences on the list (which is stored as the value), sort all those away that do not have a certain character as the nth character."

Easiest way is to start with dummy dictionary and test different approaches. It could be subset of real data or just:

>>> dummy = {1: ['a', 'b', 'c'], 2: ['a', 'c', 'b'], 3: ['c', 'b', 'a']}
Now you try to filter out keys which don't have 'b' in their values on index 1. Most used dictionary methods are:

>>> dummy.keys()
dict_keys([1, 2, 3])
>>> dummy.values()
dict_values([['a', 'b', 'c'], ['a', 'c', 'b'], ['c', 'b', 'a']])
>>> dummy.items()
dict_items([(1, ['a', 'b', 'c']), (2, ['a', 'c', 'b']), (3, ['c', 'b', 'a'])])
"it is important that a sequences is not paired with another sequence with the same sequence id (key)"

Maybe you elaborate that. Dictionary keys are unique and therefore situation with same keys cannot happen.
Thank you, I will try that approach Smile

What I mean by not having the same sequence id, is that I need to make sure that the random sequence pair