I am using Python IDLE 3.7 for Windows 7. When I launch the IDLE and use the dot sign (.) after a module or class its associated methods or functions are shown in a list.
However, this is not happening on my MacPro. I hit the dot after, for example, os or sys or random (of course after importing them) nothing shows up. I do get the hint or annotation when I hit the opening parenthesis '('.
What settings do I need to make?
Hi,
I have tried Sublime too. The Intellisence does not work. I import a module such as "sys" and then type something like:
sys.
and nothing pops up to show what methods / properties are available with the module.
(Jun-19-2019, 11:10 AM)Devarishi Wrote: [ -> ]I have tried Sublime too. The Intellisence does not work.
Should work in Sublime,try VS Code(Free open source) which i think is better alternative than pay closed source Sublime.
Vs Code has the best support for
IntelliSense out there.
I also do a lot of my quick testing in cmder with ptpython.
ptpython don't have to push eg backspace,Autocompletion show up auto after s
.
.
![[Image: AA12FQ.jpg]](https://imagizer.imageshack.com/v2/640x480q90/924/AA12FQ.jpg)
(Jun-19-2019, 04:34 PM)snippsat Wrote: [ -> ] (Jun-19-2019, 11:10 AM)Devarishi Wrote: [ -> ]I have tried Sublime too. The Intellisence does not work.
Should work in Sublime,try VS Code(Free open source) which i think is better alternative than pay closed source Sublime.
Vs Code has the best support for IntelliSense out there.
I also do a lot of my quick testing in cmder with ptpython.
ptpython don't have to push eg backspace,Autocompletion show up auto after s.
.
![[Image: AA12FQ.jpg]](https://imagizer.imageshack.com/v2/640x480q90/924/AA12FQ.jpg)
Thanks for your response. However, on the official website of Cmder (
https://cmder.net/) it is not clear if there exists a version for MacOS too. The site says it is for Windows OS.
My mistake cmder is only for Windows,that i thought you ask about.
For Mac the Terminal is be better than Windows,you may also need to push
Tab
after
.
in original REPL.
With eg ptpython will autocompletion show up auto after
.
.
Try
pip install ptpython
or
pip install ipython
Then launch in Terminal
ptpython
or
ipython
.
Installation preferably Python 3.7
Doing it Right Mac.
So doing
python -V
and
pip -V
it point to Python 3.7.
Installed by running:
pip install ptpython
Launched by running:
ipython
import sys
sys.<HIT TAB>
It works. Not as effectively as the Python IDLE in Windows OS but it does help.
Thanks!