Python Forum

Full Version: UnicodeDecodeError while installing polyglot
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Good day everyone. I'm installing polyglot for python 3.4.3 in windows 7 64 bit. Dependencies were installed already and when I installed  polyglot, I get an error below. Please help. This might sound very simple for you all but please bear with me, I'm just new to python and still learning. Your help will be much appreciated. Thank you.

Output:
C:\Python34\Scripts>pip install polyglot Collecting polyglot   Using cached polyglot-16.7.4.tar.gz     Complete output from command python setup.py egg_info:     Traceback (most recent call last):       File "<string>", line 1, in <module>       File "C:\Users\DRMS~1\AppData\Local\Temp\pip-build-8id__qnu\polyglot\setup .py", line 15, in <module>         readme = readme_file.read()       File "C:\Python34\lib\encodings\cp1252.py", line 23, in decode         return codecs.charmap_decode(input,self.errors,decoding_table)[0]     UnicodeDecodeError: 'charmap' codec can't decode byte 0x81 in position 4941:  character maps to <undefined>     ---------------------------------------- Command "python setup.py egg_info" failed with error code 1 in C:\Users\DRMS~1\A ppData\Local\Temp\pip-build-8id__qnu\polyglot\
A quick look at the documentation leads me to believe that this particular module is intended for Linux only and not for Windows.  This entry:

Quote:   File "C:\Python34\lib\encodings\cp1252.py", line 23, in decode
        return codecs.charmap_decode(input,self.errors,decoding_table)[0]
    UnicodeDecodeError: 'charmap' codec can't decode byte 0x81 in position 4941:
 character maps to <undefined>

seems to indicate polyglot relies on utf-8 (which Linux supports natively), while your version of Windows currently supports cp1252 (code page 1252), which is not utf-8.