Python Forum

Full Version: Binding not explicitly declared happening
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello everyone,

I'm basically new to Python. My experience is in industrial automation and some intermediate in MATLAB and, although I have developed good programming thinking, I need to clarify some things about Python. I'm trying to solve a problem from a course I'm taking, but I'm not posting this in the courses forum because the question is not even related to the problem description.

Here's the thing: I'm trying to have a list of that contains the alphabet letters (lower case) and another with the numbers from 0 to 25, so I can find a letter in the first list and know what's it's position. Probably I come up with a more efficient way of solving this, but I'm having some strange assignment to variables that I didn't expect. Have a look...

a = 0
c = list(range(26))
b = c
for i in 'abcdefghjiklmnopqrstuvwxyz':
    b [a] = i
    a += 1
After these lines are executed, c ends up containing the lower-case alphabet. Why? I assigned c to b before the loop, but I'm not reassigning anything to c. Where is this binding happening? If I print c before the loop, it has its numeric values.

Does this mean that, when you assign the value of a variable to another, they both get "married" and they'll always have the same value even when you only modify one of them?

Thanks in advance.
Lists are mutable objects. They are passed and assigned by reference not value. So c is a reference/pointer to a list. b = c makes b a reference/pointer to the same list. So when you make a change to b, you are making a change to the list b is pointing at, which is the same one c is pointing at. Typically you would solve this with a full slice (b = c[:]), which makes a shallow copy of c. In this case that would make b fully independent of c.