Python Forum

Full Version: Function question
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So, for my homework assignment, I am required to write a function called "check_answer" which will determine if a given addition or subtraction problem was solved correctly.

I would like to know how I can properly call this function, and how I can start checking the answer. Am I on the right track by using "if statements?"

(Please excuse my newbie language, I'm really new to python as you can tell.)

def Main():
  int1 = int(input("Please enter a integer: "))
  int2 = int(input("Please enter a second integer:"))
  return int1
  return int2

def check_answer():

print("Started")

answer1 = check_answer(1, 2, 3, "+")
  output = (answer1)
  print(answer1)
  if answer1 == 6:
    print ("True")

if answer1 != 6:
    print("False")

answer2 = check_answer(1, 2, -1, "-")
  output = (answer2)
  print (answer2)

if answer2 == -1:
    print("True")

if answer2 != -1:
    print("False")

answer3 = check_answer(9, 5, 3, "+")
  output = (answer3)
  print (answer3)

if answer3 == 17:
    print("True")

if answer3 != 17:
    print("False")

answer4 = check_answer(8, 2, 4, "-")
  output = (answer4)
  print (answer4)

if answer4 == 4:
    print("True")

if answer4 != 4:
    print("False")

print(check_answer)
  return output

if __name__ == "_check_answer_":
  check_answer()
First, you can't use multiple return statements the way you are trying to. As soon as a return statement is processed, the function stops processing code. If you need to return two values, return them as a tuple:

def Main():
  int1 = int(input("Please enter a integer: "))
  int2 = int(input("Please enter a second integer:"))
  return int1, int2
Although you never call main, so I guess that's not a problem?