Python Forum

Full Version: Retrieving items from JSON
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi,

I am very new to Python and I apologise if I am asking this wrong. I have retrieved a list of tenants via the API I am trying to use. I need to retrieve the ID, Name and Region from the result. I have 10 tenants.

I managed to do this earlier in my code, but that didn't returned any items, just a set of tokens that were easy to retrieve. How do I get just the tokens I want from this list? Below is my code

r = requests.get(tenants_url, headers=headers)
tenants = r.json()
If I look in the debugger I get this

<class 'dict'>: {'items': [{'id': '0e717975-4dce-b911-23276700d154', 'name': 'UK', 'dataGeography': 'IE', 'dataRegion': '01', 'billingType': 'trial', 'partner': {'id': '31e6dc97-4239-a6c5-2faae47b111a'}, 'organization': {'id': '045796c3-a448-b93c77d6b0d2'}, 'apiHost': 'https://api.com'}, {'id': '1e0f069e-458d-954b-353500717c20', 'name': 'US', 'dataGeography': 'IE', 'dataRegion': '02', 'billingType': 'trial', 'partner': {'id': '31e6dc97-3907-a6c5-2faae47b111a'}, 'organization': {'id': '045796c3-a448-b93c77d6b0d2'}, 'apiHost': 'https://api.com'},
This is repeated for each tenant.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Best wishes

Michael
for tenant in tenants["items"]:
    tenant_id = tenant["id"]
    tenant_name = tenant["name"]
    tenant_region = tenant["dataRegion"]
    print(', '.join([tenant_id, tenant_name, tenant_region]))
Output:
0e717975-4dce-b911-23276700d154, UK, 01 1e0f069e-458d-954b-353500717c20, US, 02
Thanks Buran. I will try that in the morning. I appreciate the quick reply.
Thank you. That worked a treat. I am now trying to get those results in to a Dictionary. Nothing gets added. What did I miss?

tenant_d = {'id': '', 'name': '', 'dataRegion': ''}
    tenant_id = tenant["id"]
    tenant_name = tenant["name"]
    tenant_region = tenant["dataRegion"]