Python Forum

Full Version: Help - Functions With While Loops
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Cheers! I'm a self-learning beginner using a crash course book. One of the "Try It Yourself" at the end of the chapter has me create a function with a while loop that prompts for your record. At the end you should be able to print the dictionary.

It works fine until I add a break statement. It inserts the "q" response as one of the values in the dictionary.

# This is the definition
def make_album(artist, album, tracks=''):
    """Return a dictionary of artist album info"""
    music = {
        'artist': artist, 
        'album': album,
        }
    if tracks:
        music['tracks'] = tracks
    return music

# This is the while Loop
while True:
    print("\nPlease tell me your favorite band and record.")
    print("(Enter 'q' at any time to quit)")

b_name = input("Band name: ")
    if b_name == 'q':
        break

a_name = input("Album name: ")
    if a_name == 'q':
        break

record = make_album(b_name, a_name)
print(record)
Output:
Please tell me your favorite band and record. (Enter 'q' at any time to quit) Band name: the cult Album name: electric Please tell me your favorite band and record. (Enter 'q' at any time to quit) Band name: q {'artist': 'q', 'album': 'electric'}
I'm not sure what the goal of the exercise is, so I'm not sure what the fix is, although I can see the problem. You are making the dictionary after the loop is done. So whatever values are in a_name and b_name will be what goes in the dictionary. Since this is after the loop is done, it is after you quit, and one of those must be 'q'.