Python Forum

Full Version: Questions re: my first python app (GUI, cross-platform, admin/root-level commands)?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm brand new to python and for my first app ("StaySafe"), I want to pop up a randomly chosen message whenever the user launches their web browser. (Details below if you're interested in reading them.)

My intention was to rename the existing executable (e.g. /usr/bin/google-chrome-stable becomes /usr/bin/google-chrome-stable-staysafe) then replace it with my script (renamed using the original executable's filename - /usr/bin/google-chrome-stable). So that any existing menu item, desktop icon, etc. will still launch the browser - but only after displaying a StaySafe reminder message.

I initially tried to write this as a shell script for Linux but you can't execute sudo commands (which are necessary if you're going to be messing around with files in /usr/bin) in a shell script and there's no good way around that limitation. That means I can't make a simple installer which violates one of my criteria. Will I have the same problem with a python script? Or can I somehow tell it to run certain commands as root/Administrator, prompting the user for sudo authentication?
I was planning to use easygui for my messages but it looks like I can't display a message with an image off to the left or right of the text. Is there an alternative that will give me that capability that's just as easy to use? (I'm worried about getting bogged down in the intricacies of tkinter.)
If I want it to be easily installable by novice users, going into installation mode the first time it's run, I'll want it to be executable... what do I need to do/know to make a cross-platform (Windows, Mac, and Linux) executable?
Aside from the click to install/run aspect, how do I make it cross-platform when Windows, Mac, and Linux all keep their executables in different places?