Python Forum

Full Version: trying to change variable value with a def
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi, i am a newbie in python and am trying to make a gui to control how fast an LED blinks with a variable named "delay". i am using this code

from tkinter import *
from tkinter import ttk
import RPi.GPIO as GPIO
import time

root = Tk()

redLED = 26
GPIO.setmode(GPIO.BCM)
GPIO.setup(redLED, GPIO.OUT)

global delay
delay = .40
while True:
   GPIO.output(redLED, GPIO.HIGH)
   time.sleep(delay)
   GPIO.output(redLED, GPIO.LOW)
   time.sleep(delay)
   def Decrease_Time():
      delay -= .05

def Increase_Time():
      delay += .05

button_increse = ttk.Button(root, text = 'Increase', command = Increase_Time).pack()
   button_decrease = ttk.Button(root, text = 'Decrease', command = Decrease_Time).pack()

root.mainloop()
but i get this error when i press the Increase or decrease buttons

Error:
UnboundLocalError: local variable 'delay' referenced before assignment
any help appreciated
remove line 13, it has no purpose and is the cause for error (delay is defined after declaring as global)
In general, globals are considered bad programming practice, and are rarely if ever needed.
(Mar-02-2020, 04:43 AM)Larz60+ Wrote: [ -> ]rarely if ever needed
I've been using Python since 2005. I've never needed a global. Same for the last six years, in which I've been programming professionally - I've never used one, and never seen one in code review. Occasionally I hear about Java-style globals (mutable state in a class) and those are always trouble.
The first rule of Python is never use globals.
The second rule of Python is never use globals.
but how am i going to be able to change the variable. i tried removing line 13, but when i press either one of the buttons, it gives me another error which is
Error:
[error]UnboundLocalError: local variable 'delay' referenced before assignment
[/error]