Python Forum

Full Version: modules with exe or msi extension
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am new to python. I am trying to update python on an Ubuntu 20.04 linux box. The application that I use creates a python installation that is really windows executable.

To install custom packages, I have to download the msi or exe versions of the packages. Where do you get these types of packages? I found one link for numpy, but I have a few more (like pandas, psycopg2, sqlalchemy, cvxopt, suds, ...).

I didnt' even know that there were packages with these extensions. Am I missing something?
The product that requires me to use these packages is ArcGIS Server on Linux.

Can someone please point me in the right direction? I thought you always used pip. Buth this has me using a file explorer called 'wine' on the linux box (which allows windows executables to run on linux).

thanks!
Packages have different installers for different OSs. Here is a link to the page about installing on Linux. I don't imagine that installing through the Wine emulator wouldn't work.

Try here.
all packaged which can be installed with pip can be found here: https://pypi.org/
there are also wheels (see: https://pythonwheels.com/ )(also installable with pip, wheels will install all dependencies as well.
.msi is an install package for MS operating systems (only).
Thanks for the help - but still not sure where to find modules with the ".exe" or ".msi" extensions. I seen and read the documentation about custom packages for ArcGIS server. I have also been out to the two sites listed by Larz60+. But they are wheels and packages to be installed by pip.

I need need to know where to find the ".exe" or ".msi" packages/modules that can be installed through the 'wine' emulator.
I've never encountered anything like that.
There is no longer ant distributions of .exe only .whl(wheel).