Python Forum

Full Version: Multi-gaussian function
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey! I need help developing a code for a multi-gaussian function. The point would be to create a function that uses the number of gaussian requested by the user to make the final fitting function. All parameters are passed as *params and number of gaussians is deduced from the number of items in *params (1 + n*3). However, I am very new to coding and was left with a base to work with, only I am confused of what to do next.

This is the code so far:
def multi_gaussian(x, *params):
    y0 = params[0]
    n_gauss = ...
    y = np.ones_like()
    for i in range(n_gauss):
        parameters = ...
        y += gaussian(x, parameters)
    return y

I understand that n_gauss should be extracted from the length of *params, but I am unsure of how the parameters should be defined: in the file that I use the function in, or in this same code, such as here

def two_gaussian(x, *param):
    y0, A1, w1, xc1, A2, w2, xc2 = param
    y = y0 + (A1/(w1*np.sqrt(np.pi/2)))*np.exp(-2*np.power((x-xc1)/w1, 2.))
    + (A2/(w2*np.sqrt(np.pi/2)))*np.exp(-2*np.power((x-xc2)/w2, 2.))
    return y
y should be a constant background function, but I am unsure of how extracting parameters works. Any kind of help is appreciated!
Within multi_gaussian the params variable will be interpreted as a tuple of size 3 * n + 1. So, the answer to your question would be something like the following:

def multi_gaussian(x, *params):
    y0 = params[0]
    n_gauss = (len(params) - 1) // 3    
    y = y0 * np.ones_like(x)  # ??? 
    for i in range(n_gauss):
        parameters = params[1+3*i:1+3*i + 3]
        y += gaussian(x, *parameters)
    return y
However, you probably need to check if len(params) is correct (e.g. len(params) - 1 is divisible by 3).