Python Forum

Full Version: any concerns around using os.path.isFile() in web app
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
hello,

are there any security concerns if i use os.path.isFile() in the context of a Flask web server? i do not want to hardcode web pages so i made an if statement to see if the provided uri matches any files inside the Flask root of templates. so, what the user will enter, will be checked by python to see if it corresponds with any files. i am very new to Python and i come from different languages so i just want to make sure if Python has any kind of not-so-obvious problems with the method i use.

thank you in advance.
I guess here is some big misunderstanding - why do you want to check if files exists in templates?
by "in templates" i mean the folder where all Jinja2 templates are stored. my method makes it so i can simply create an .html file inside the templates folder and then Flask will automatically make the correct URL available because the file itself exists. i wanted to create a similar behavior like in the old days when i could simply create an html file inside a folder and then it was instantly available without needing to alter any code.
I understand what you mean by "in templates", but what you are doing does not make much sense - e.g. creating html files on the fly... Can you show us some code and elaborate on use case/goal? i.e. the logic is the opposite - you have static template files created, then you populate content dynamically. That's why they are templates...
this is how i did it:
1. get the path from url ( /somePage for example )
2. remove html extension if present
3. then check if the corresponding jinja2 template exists ( it should be templates/pages/somePage.html
4. if it does, respond with HTTP200 and render templates/pages/somePage.html
5. if it does not exist, respond with HTTP404 and render error page template