Python Forum

Full Version: SSD and HDD
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello ! I need help (please ! ) from experienced users.

I will try to summarize my problem briefly. If my request is "stupid", I humbly apologize:

In my computer I have two disks: an SSD and an HDD. Windows is installed on the SSD, and I do not have much additional memory. It is an SSD which is starting to date a bit (2017) and therefore, I do not want to destroy it with writes / rewrites.

I managed to "install" Python on the HDD, without too much problem, to install Anaconda on the HDD without too much problem, but I still have quite a few writes on the SSD, in AppData / Roaming for example, or I have a ".anaconda" folder, a "jupyter" folder and a "python38" folder. I didn't have much time to look at what was in it, and I'm not sure I would have understood anyway. I am new to the Python ecosystem.

In short, here is my "question": I would like to know if you knew a procedure to install "properly" Python, and the tools which can accompany it (Anaconda, JupyterLab, Pip), on the HDD and limit as much as possible the writes on the SSD?

Thanking you.

(please excuse my english please it is not my native language.)

1. Create a new user account (offline, no MS-Account)
  2. Login into your new account
  3. Logout from your new account
  4. Login into your admin user account
  5. Go to location: C:\Users\
  6. Move the new crated home directory of the new user to another location / disk (admin rights are required to move it)
  7. Start regedit and navigate to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList\
  8. Navigate in this hierarchy to the last folders and the right side you'll see ProfileImagePath which is pointing to the users home directory. Change this path to the new location. Don't edit the wrong user. You