Python Forum

Full Version: Can Python Do This? Asset Management
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,
I'm not a python pro but rather a novice at best. I'm looking to maybe build a small little project on the side to better help with my IT asset management inventory. I have about 500+ devices (switches, routers, firewalls, physical desktops, vdi machines, and servers)
I know there are a ton of applications out there that would help me with this but i feel like it might be fun to smash my head against the desk for a few months trying to work this out in python rather then taking the easy way out and paying the money for something like this.

I have a idea of what i would like the application to do and ill list the goals/objectives below. I would like some feedback maybe or just some chatter with others. I think this project if anything else will strengthen my rusty skills in python and heck, maybe ill learn a bunch of new stuff along the way.

Goals:
-allow user to input assets into sqlite database
-assets should have the attributes of asset_type,asset_id,serial_number,hostname,ip_addr,location,os_version and confirmation for new addition
-asset should be able to be removed with one click and confirmation
-would like to ping asset with 1-click box beside asset to see if asset is online
-would like to use the rdp protocol to remote into asset
-should have a easy to view dashboard which can be accessed via web-gui. This would be able to import/export existing assets from a csv file into database

What do you think, Can python do this? :)

mbaker_wv
Goals:
  • allow user to input assets into sqlite database
    look at using sqlite with SQLAlchemy, It will make your life easier with models.
    plain sqlite will work as well, just easier to maintain with SQLalchemy