Python Forum

Full Version: Python vs VBA for Excel
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
As a business analyst, I've been using VBA with Excel and Access for a while now and can usually accomplish my goals with these tools alone. I recently started playing with Python and I can see it has some great features. Like VBA, the syntax is pretty simple to pick up. I'm watching as many videos and reading as many articles as I can on Python but all of them seem to fail to tell me WHY I should use this. It's outside of Excel, which seems inconvenient and I can't figure out where the end user comes in.

As an example: In my job I create a lot of interactive dashboards, fed by data from Excel sheets and Access databases. The end users enter a range of dates, for example, and VBA macros manipulate the data, run pivots, charts, etc. I understand this can be done in python as well, but where would an end user come in? Is python better suited for analyst who are running a lot of ad hoc reports to be completed and delivered without the requester running anything themselves?

I know there's a GUI for python, but then I assume I'd have to do python installations on client PCs and at this point excel and VBA seems easier. I want to like this, can someone help me see what I'm missing?
One big reason is that VBA only runs on other platforms using Microsoft software products like 'Office MAC OS X', MapPoint or Visio.

Quote:I assume I'd have to do python installations on client PCs
Python will run on just about any platform, and is already installed on most.
It can, and very often is embedded into the application, thus you do not have to worry about what's on client machine.
For web applications, all of the transient data, etc can (and should be) on the server, not on client.
A few reasons -