Python Forum

Full Version: FileNotFoundError when I try putting sprite in Pygame
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I started following a Space Invaders tutorial for pygame, and I made sprites in Piskel and put them into the folder with my game, but I got an error saying "FileNotFoundError: No such file or directory." Note that I am very new to pygame. I tried many ways, but it still comes up with the same error, which are listed below.

- pygame.image.load("cannon.png")
- pygame.image.load("cannon.gif")
- pygame.image.load("\Users\ZULU\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37-32\Zion_Python Games\First Pygame\cannon.png")
- pygame.image.load("/Users/ZULU\AppData/Local/Programs/Python/Python37-32/Zion_Python Games/First Pygame/cannon.png")
- pygame.image.load(os.path.abspath("cannon.png"))
- pygame.image.load(os.path.abspath("\Users\ZULU\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37-32\Zion_Python Games\First Pygame\cannon.png"))

Also, I tried checking if the path existed, but It always appeared False.

os.path.exists('/Users/ZULU/AppData/Local/Programs/Python/Python37-32/Zion_Python Games/First Pygame/cannon.png')

I'm just not sure what to do.
Loading a file is in relation to the file that you ran to run the code.

I am assuming it is this based on your path?
pygame.image.load("First Pygame\cannon.png")
But that is assuming that your main file you run is in the directory "First Pygame" directory

If that fails i would give the fullpath. This is not the fullpath if you are on Windows. I am also assuming that based on seeing AppData directory.
Quote:
 pygame.image.load("\Users\ZULU\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37-32\Zion_Python Games\First Pygame\cannon.png")

It should be
 pygame.image.load("C:\Users\ZULU\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37-32\Zion_Python Games\First Pygame\cannon.png")
I tried adding the full path, but my code wouldn't run because of an error.
Error: