Python Forum

Full Version: Problem restricting user input in my rock paper scissors game
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Okay, I am a new Python Programmer, I am a beginner, I started doing this a few months ago. I have been working through various Python challenges I found on the internet to practice and learn. So, I am working on this one, it is a rock, paper scissors game, and I managed to get the code to work. But in order for me to call it complete I felt I needed to add some code to ensure that the user only enters in one of the three, rock, paper or scissors.

If figured at first that a while loop would work great for this, so I tried it, and here is the code:
def start():
player1 = input("Player one, What is your name? ")
user1="rock"
while user1 != "rock" or user1 != "paper" or user1 != "scissors":
user1 = input(player1 + ", you are up, what's it going to be, rock, paper or scissors? ")
user1 = user1.lower()
clear()
player2 = input("Player two, What is your name? ")
user2 = input(player2 + ", you are up, what's it going to be, rock, paper or scissors? ")
user2 = user2.lower()
return (player1, user1, player2, user2)

Please note, that I only added the while loop for the first input because I wanted to test it makes sure it worked before adding it for player two. This somehow makes the loop infinite and no matter what I enter it cycles back to the same question. I ran it through a debugger and it appears that as though my boolean arguments are being ignored. I figured that as long as the input was NOT rock, paper, or scissors then it should stay in the loop. if it's rock or paper or scissors it should exit the loop. Apparently this is not the case. Any suggestions?