Python Forum

Full Version: Threading or pycharm pydev problem
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello.

I have been coding a program to manage crypto orders on an exchange. I have had a absence from coding for nearly 10 years so I have been learning a lot from scratch again and catching up to before.

The main bulk of the code is finished, for what I mainly need it to do, but I'm having problems after adding a background thread that watches for disconnections of another web socket thread, and also watches the current price of an asset, compares to a dict of triggers and will run a function depending on what type of trigger it was. (the web socket thread is disconnecting without error on rare occasions and I think it's a server side issue I have no control over)

So here's the problem. I have been working in Pycharm but I am new to it. I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong with threading or this is just something with PyDev console in Pycharm. When I run this code in Pycharm, if I type > the_watcher_flag = 1, this is a global variable and should trigger the below if statement and close the_watcher() by the return statement. But this does not happen. I added a print statement to see what was happening and it always prints 0 after I have changed the flag to 1.
If I run the full script from > python3 main.py > from a terminal in the folder location, I get a hang, and a keyboard interrupt says it was failing to acquire a lock()***edit***I don't now it was a silly problem and program works fine from terminal***
I have come across lock in threading but I'm still in the middle of fully learning it.
The thing is, if I run the same main.py in IDLE3, the entire thing works perfectly, no hanging and changing the flag to 1 exits the thread as I would expect it to.