Python Forum

Full Version: i need help with an error
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hello,

I am new in python and I don't know why I gen an error when I try to test my code. If someone can help me I will be really grateful  Big Grin .

I am using python 3.6.1 and I saved the code with name testosa.py. When I hit run module(f5) an error occurs(Syntax error - invalid syntax - Python 3.6.1).

What can I do so I can test my code?
I can't post images yet.

I will copy-paste my code:

Python 3.6.1 (v3.6.1:69c0db5, Mar 21 2017, 18:41:36) [MSC v.1900 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32
Type "copyright", "credits" or "license()" for more information.

>>> import turtle
>>> my_turtle = turtle.Turtle()
>>> my_turtle.speed(0)
>>> def square(lenght,angle):
for i in range(4):
my_turtle.forward(lenght)
my_turtle.right(angle)

>>> for i in range(150):
square(100,90)
my_turtle.right(11)

>>>
we don't want images anyway.
however you need to put your code in code tags, as I told you. Make sure to preserve the indentation as is. Indentation matter in Python.
Also, post the full Traceback (the error message) in error tags. It is informative what the problem is and at/around which line it happened.

As is your code now we are not able to tell anything.

As a side note - it is better to write your code and save it as .py file instead of writing it in the interactive prompt, like you do now. This way it will be easier for you to rerun the program, debug, etc.
A popup with name SyntaxError appear and the only error message is: invalid syntax(I have no other messages, neither in shell or popup). The 6 from first line (Python 3.6.1 (v3.6.1:69c0db5, Mar 21 2017, 18:41:36) [MSC v.1900 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32) turns red (this is the only difference between original shell with my code and the new one after I hit Run Module).