Python Forum

Full Version: Web scraper
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi everyone, so this is my first time ever using python script, and I would like to create an web scraper, to scrap prices, names, dates, and stuff like that from multiple websites, and my goal is to book the information into excel sheets. Is it possible? Also I would like to ask your help everyone and if possible teach me how to code it.
Welcome to the forum @tomenzo123 ,
(Feb-03-2022, 12:03 PM)tomenzo123 Wrote: [ -> ]Is it possible?
Yes, Python is a good choice for this.
(Feb-03-2022, 12:03 PM)tomenzo123 Wrote: [ -> ]Also I would like to ask your help everyone and if possible teach me how to code it.
Well, that is a bit difficult. You say you have no experience with Python. Do you have experience with other languages? It will take a few weeks to get on the desired level.
First you must start learning Python. So start with the tutorial. Ask questions on this forum if you get stuck.
Next you must learn how to scrape information from web pages. You can read about it in "Beautiful Soup Documentation".
Then write the data to Excel, well there are several ways to do so. But tell us when you are finished with the previous documents.
Okay will check out and try to code it
(Feb-03-2022, 12:03 PM)tomenzo123 Wrote: [ -> ]I would like to create an web scraper, to scrap prices, names, dates, and stuff like that from multiple websites, and my goal is to book the information into excel sheets
Here is post where i show a demo of this task.
So use common tools for scraping look at Web-Scraping part-1
Then Pandas is great for all kind data format and can eg export directly to Excel df.to_excel
Quote:Hi everyone, so this is my first time ever using python script
You should spend some time so have basic knowledge of Python,then link ibreeden is more on that topic.