Python Forum

Full Version: Python University Laboratory - Help
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello, guys, how are you? My name is Cami and and I'm new to the coding community. I'm taking a course at the university and I have some problems with the last lab that I need to hand in as a weekly activity. I'd like to ask for help from some of you who are more experienced in the field, so that maybe you can recognize my mistake, and with it, I can improve my computing. Below is the problem statement to be solved:

"Your boss has asked you to analyze the monthly sales of the company in which you are working. During your studies, you discovered that this type of data, which has values recorded over time, is considered a time series and that there is a way of representing this information as a recurrence graph.

The recurrence graph transforms time series into binary images (with each point in the image having a value of 0 or 1). To do this, for each value in the time series, the difference from all the values in the series is checked, and if the (absolute) difference is less than or equal to a certain threshold, the recurrence value between the two points is indicated as 0, otherwise as 1.

The following example shows a time series with 4 values:

5 10 3 8

Consider a threshold equal to 3. For the first value in the series (5), the (absolute) differences between the evaluated value (5) and all the elements in the series are as follows:

0 5 2 3

Therefore, the recurrence for this first evaluated value (5) will be equal to:

0 1 0 0