Python Forum

Full Version: Is it possible to use the full potential of scalene in Pycharm?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello folks,

I see that scalene is included in Pycharm community edition.

I wrote a program and I executed it from the terminal. It worked and I saw interesting data on the output.

But I only see "line profile" and "function profile", I didn't see anything about the memory or the GPU.

I have searched in the Pycharm website and the search function for "scalene" does not give me any results. I don't see any tutorial or news anywhere.

So guys, What do you think? Is it possible that scalene is limited in Pycharm or is it fully available and it's just I don't know how to use it?
(Nov-18-2023, 08:21 AM)arnoldpredator Wrote: [ -> ]So guys, What do you think? Is it possible that scalene is limited in Pycharm or is it fully available and it's just I don't know how to use it?
Link Asked Questions
Quote:A: In PyCharm, you can run Scalene at the command line by opening the terminal at the bottom of the IDE
and running a Scalene command (e.g., python -m scalene <your program>).
Use the options --cli, --html, and --outfile <your output.html> to generate an HTML file that you can then view in the IDE.
So it's not more integrated than use from command line in PyCharm.
It has a Web-based GUI and CLI interface,so this is separate from any editors usage.
Can make most sense to just do this from command line:
scalene your_prog.py
# full profile (outputs to web interface)
Then it open browser and get nicer GUI of the profile.
[Image: yLPuAA.png]
(Nov-18-2023, 11:25 AM)snippsat Wrote: [ -> ]
(Nov-18-2023, 08:21 AM)arnoldpredator Wrote: [ -> ]So guys, What do you think? Is it possible that scalene is limited in Pycharm or is it fully available and it's just I don't know how to use it?
Link Asked Questions
Quote:A: In PyCharm, you can run Scalene at the command line by opening the terminal at the bottom of the IDE
and running a Scalene command (e.g., python -m scalene <your program>).
Use the options --cli, --html, and --outfile <your output.html> to generate an HTML file that you can then view in the IDE.
So it's not more integrated than use from command line in PyCharm.
It has a Web-based GUI and CLI interface,so this is separate from any editors usage.
Can make most sense to just do this from command line:
scalene your_prog.py
# full profile (outputs to web interface)
Then it open browser and get nicer GUI of the profile.
[Image: yLPuAA.png]

Did you get that image or did you copy from their website?

When I execute this code:

import numpy as np
def main ():
    x = np.array(range(10**7))
    y = np.array(np.random.uniform(0,100, size=10**8))

main()
I get this:
(Nov-18-2023, 12:50 PM)arnoldpredator Wrote: [ -> ]Did you get that image or did you copy from their website?
Yes.
If i install and do quick test.
So it's a little difference,now is there an option to enter an OpenAI key in advanced options.
May need that to get all option
[Image: jjSLtm.png]
(Nov-18-2023, 01:23 PM)snippsat Wrote: [ -> ]
(Nov-18-2023, 12:50 PM)arnoldpredator Wrote: [ -> ]Did you get that image or did you copy from their website?
Yes.
If i install and do quick test.
So it's a little difference,now is there an option to enter an OpenAI key in advanced options.
May need that to get all option
[Image: jjSLtm.png]

Thanks for your replies.

I think OpenAI is just for suggestions to improve performance.

So I see you just get CPU data as I did.

I will take a look at Visual Studio, WSL and so on, a bit of a mess.