Python Forum

Full Version: Grades Code":
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I'm new to Python and can't figure out what is wrong with this code?

print("please enter your 5 marks below")

#read 5 inputs
mark1 = int(input("enter mark 1: "))
mark2 = int(input("enter mark 2: "))
mark3 = int(input("enter mark 3: "))
mark4 = int(input("enter mark 4: "))
mark5 = int(input("enter mark 5: "))

#create array/list with five marks
marksList = [mark1, mark2, mark3, mark4, mark5]

#print the array/list
print(marksList)

#calculate the sum and average
sumOfMarks = sum(marksList)
averageOfMarks = sum(marksList)/5

#display results
print("The sum of your marks is: "+str(sumOfMarks))
print("The average of your marks is: "+str(averageOfMarks))
Anthony.
What would you like to change? Or are you simply looking for a better way to write that script?

The first thing to note is this: whenever you see repetitive code lines, it's a sure thing that you need a code loop.

There's a few different ways in which this can be coded, but let's stay with the list object. You need a list of five values, so that's what your loop should do:

print("please enter your 5 marks below")

# create an empty array
marksList = []

# populate it
while len(marksList) != 5:
    entry = len(marksList) + 1
    mark = int(input(f"enter mark {entry}: "))
    marksList.append(mark)
From here, well please post back, so that we can move this forward. I have to be FAK for a few hours, but I'm sure that someone else will pick this up. If not, I will pick it up when I get done with other things.
(Nov-22-2023, 03:58 AM)Anthony Wrote: [ -> ]can't figure out what is wrong with this code?
What makes you think that there is something wrong? It can be written way better, but it works
(Nov-22-2023, 07:21 AM)rob101 Wrote: [ -> ]You need a list of five values, so that's what your loop should do: