Python Forum

Full Version: New to python and need help
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi, I am very new to python and programming, and I have to create an artificial intelligence that will try to guess a number that the user thinks of. I will reply with either higher or lower to tell it what to guess next. There also needs to be a way for it to check if the user's statements are contradicting themselves.
I have attempted it and gotten close. (Python 3.6.0 Btw)

from random import randint
again = 1
while int(again) == 1:
      print("Think of a number between 1 and 5 for the computer to guess") 
      guess = (randint(1,5))
      win = 0
      low = 1
      high = 5
      while (win < 1):
            print("The computer guessed " + str(guess))
            response = input("Is your number higher, lower or was that correct? (Put 1 for higher, 2 for lower and 3 for correct) ")
            print("  ")
            guess = int(guess)
            response = int(response)
            if low > high:
                win = win + 1
                again = input("You either cheated, or were incorrect with your clues. Do you want to play again? (1 for yes, 0 for no) ")
            else:
                guess = (randint(low ,high))
                if response == 1:
                    low = int(guess) + 1
                elif response == 2:
                    high = int(guess) - 1
                else:
                    win = win + 1
                    again = input("It guessed it! Do you want to play again? (1 for yes, 0 for no) ")
It doesn't use the "higher, lower" clues and incorectly says that the statements contradict.