Python Forum

Full Version: Syntax errors
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hi I am new to python, my reason for trying it is to backup the flash memory on my esp8266. I have installed python 3.6.2 and eventually esptools.py. being a newbie I rely on google to find the info I need. The first attempt to install esptool i used the code
$ pip install esptool
which didnt work came back with syntax error. Some more searching suggested
import pip
package_name-'esptool'
pip.main(['install', package_name])
which worked But if I then try
esptool -h
I get NameError esptool not defined. Further searching suggested I needed PySerial.py so I installed that too, but I am still getting syntax and not defined errors
this is the code to copy the memory
python.exe esptool.py --port COM5 --baud 115200 read_flash 0x000 524288 backup.bin
which returns SyntaxError: invalid syntax

Any help would be great, I imagine its something simple that I am not doing right

Screen shot
I saw your screenshot, you are using esptool -h in Python interpreter which won't work, for using it in python use import esptool. This esptool -h command is for cmd.
Output: