Python Forum

Full Version: animated rain in tkinter
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi!
I am trying to simulate rain, similar to this example: hxxps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e5LCLDoVx2I
The code you see below can so far create drops in random colors in random locations at the top of the canvas. However, I can't make the rain fall down, no matter what I try. Can someone give me a hint on how to make each drop fall down individually? As you can see, I save the raindrop-objects in a list, and basically when one drop reaches the ground I want to delete it and create a new one.
Btw, the code I already have can probably be improved a lot since I am very new to programming, feel free to critique!
Thank you!!

from tkinter import *
from random import randint
import random

root=Tk()

width = 400
height = width
colors = ["red", "orange", "yellow", "green", "blue", "violet", "white"]
dropcount = width//2    
drops = []

background = Canvas(root, width=width, height=height, background ='black')
background.pack()

class Drop():
    def __init__ (self, locationx, locationy, heightdrop, widthdrop, color):
        self.locationx = locationx
        self.locationy = locationy
        self.heightdrop = heightdrop
        self.widthdrop = widthdrop
        self.color = color

def newdrop(self):
        drop=background.create_rectangle(self.locationx, self.locationy, self.locationx+self.widthdrop, self.locationy+self.heightdrop, fill=self.color)
        drops.append(drop)

for i in range (dropcount):
    drop=Drop(randint(0, width), randint(-100, 100), 10, 2, random.choice(colors))
    drop.newdrop()

root.mainloop()
You are not using class incorrectly.
The class should be instantiated once only, so outside of the loop
This leads to another problem in that all of the rectangle variables are passed to init
which will only be run once when instantiated.