Python Forum

Full Version: sudo apt Not Working
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Not sure this is the right place for this problem but it's where I thought was best. I'm relatively new to Python but did some programming in C+ many years ago.

Running Python 3.6.2 on Windows 10.

When I run "sudo apt-get upate" I get a syntax error.

Python 3.6.2 (v3.6.2:5fd33b5, Jul  8 2017, 04:14:34) [MSC v.1900 32 bit (Intel)] on win32
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> sudo apt-get update
  File "<stdin>", line 1
    sudo apt-get update
           ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
I don't have a problem running this on my PI.
Any idea what's going on? Think Thanks in advance.
That is a Linux command.
On windows use:
python -m pip install -U pip
sudo apt-get update is Linux command, not Python. You need to execute it in the shell/terminal. At the moment you try to execute it in the python interactive prompt.
I get the same thing whether I try it in shell or terminal.
Python 3.6.2 (v3.6.2:5fd33b5, Jul  8 2017, 04:14:34) [MSC v.1900 32 bit (Intel)] on win32
Type "copyright", "credits" or "license()" for more information.
>>> python -m pip install -U pip
>>> sudo apt-get update
>>> 
This one is from the shell, first one from the terminal.
You are trying to run from the python interpreter.
It is a command line command, so run from there.
(Oct-04-2017, 11:59 PM)Dacdiver Wrote: [ -> ]Python 3.6.2 (v3.6.2:5fd33b5, Jul  8 2017, 04:14:34) [MSC v.1900 32 bit (Intel)] on win32

This is a dead give away you are in the Python shell, as is the >>> prompt. To leave the shell, type exit() , this will return you to the command terminal.

As was pointed out thought, apt-get is a Linux command and will generate an error in Windows. 

What exactly are you trying to do?