Python Forum

Full Version: Have a specific app need but new to Python and Have some questions
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey all. I am new to Python for the most part. I do have OpenHAB running some home automation at my house that uses a few, somewhat simple, python scripts. I am mostly a hobbiest but do create apps and scripts in my job as an IT Operations Lead, so know my way around. I have heard great things about Python and don't really know a language really well as I never settled, but think I want to finally really learn a language well so here I am. My biggest issue is not so much the logic; rather it is just the syntax and best practices, etc.

So, I have a specific project I want to wok on which is rebuilding a very old web application that I use at work that someone else created long ago using perl and cgi. It works OK, but basically has 0 scale in anyway. From a high level view, it is actually very simple in what it is doing - it is essentially a syslog query. We are running Kiwi Syslog on one of the networks I manage, which works great. It creates a new text file, one a day, with all the various messages in them. The files are fairly small on this particular network as it runs the machine automation and robotics so the footprint is small compared to our business network.

The way the current app works is that is pushes all of the text files into an array (I think there is some hashing going on as well, but only for a few things). Then the web component displays some summary information (top loggers, which is determined by functions run on the data structure), then options to drill down to specific switches and other nodes. Options to filter on date, message types, etc and then display this on a different page. The filtering is done via PERL and regex essentially based on a few form inputs, so as I said it is quite simple.