Python Forum

Full Version: [Python / BS4] How to Scrape
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm new to programming and am having trouble scraping with BS4.

I'm webmaster for a popular website (can't share it here, but it uses Disqus comments platform).

I want to scrape the vote count and the message in top comments within a set range.. (scrape comments with 20-200 upvotes).

I noticed that:
  • Vote count should be easy to scrape since the upvote count can be found in the 'a class', example: "count-116"
  • The problem is that 'a class' isn't linked to the message text in any way I can see

I've been playing around with some code working on an example site, but so far no success:

from bs4 import BeautifulSoup
import urllib.request
import re

scrape = urllib.request.urlopen('https://disqus.com/home/discussion/channel-discussdisqus/disqus_leaderboard_what_are_the_best_sports_websites/').read()
#soup = BeautifulSoup(scrape,'lxml')
soup = BeautifulSoup(scrape, 'html.parser')

for elem in soup.find_all('a', src=re.compile('count-116')):
    print (elem['src'])
^ This was my attempt to scrape the 'a' element that contains 'count-116', I was going to run it in a while loop with an increment..

count-20
count-21
count-22

...but sadly it doesn't work.

Can anyone help me understand the proper way?
see in the tutorials section:
Web scraping Part 1
Web scraping Part 2
(Oct-19-2017, 07:57 AM)Larz60+ Wrote: [ -> ]see in the tutorials section:
Web scraping Part 1
Web scraping Part 2

Thanks! Great resources!!

Any advice on how to scrape the message if the likes fall in the specified numerical range?

[Image: cZOQiN22SeCAk3ONOdtA2Q.png]