Python Forum

Full Version: Do Machine Learning Employers care if I get a minor in Math on top of MS engineering
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm going to be signing up for classes in a few weeks, and I'm debating on wether I should obtain a math minor on top of my masters in Computer Engineering. Does anyone know if Machine Learning employers care if I get a minor in math on top of a masters in engineering. Especially if my thesis is going to be a machine learning / data science project.  

The department chair of my MS Computer engineering program, has advised me to not waste my time with any minors, if I got a masters in Computer Engineering.  He explained to me that Electrical and Computer Engineers, with a masters, get their pick of the litter.  My father who is a Electrical Engineer at Qualcomm with a MS degree, has also told me to not waste my time, and to graduate as soon as I can(he has sat at the same desk for 28 years that was bought out by 4 different companies).  My Grandfather who was Chief Electrical Engineer of American Bell/AT&T told me that he minored in Math but only because he didn't get his masters.  I agree with my pool of advisers, but I want to just make sure to hear it from someone with Data science/machine learning experience.  Below is my background which does have much to do with machine learning. 

Background:
- 27 years old (29 when I graduate)
- 9 years of full time college education by end of masters (yes I do owe a lot of debt)
- 2 AA degrees in IT and automotive
- BS in Advanced Automotive Technology
- I ran 2 small businesses, to pay for my BS degree
- One of the businesses was in advanced board level electronics repair
- the other business was in plastic injection molding
- I built my own cnc mill and took about 1 and a half years of machining courses